It Ain’t Easy

Today I realized that this experience has taken a toll on me both physically and emotionally.  I have enjoyed myself immensely and have been so lucky to get this opportunity, but living in another country by yourself is not easy.  Many of my healthier habits have seemed to disappear from my daily life.  If there has been any failure about this experience it has been my lack of complete immersion and dedication to meeting my own personal needs.  I have focused completely on the project and have also taken advantage of any travel opportunities.  In the meantime, my fitness level, my healthy eating, my “convivencia” with friends and others has suffered.  Inevitably I feel sad at times, too. The benefit is being able to empathize with people who leave their countries and families behind, along with their habits and foods, their comforts and customs.  It ain’t easy.  The goal is what keeps you going, the fact that you have a purpose, but in order to survive i think one has to find a way to maintain what’s important, but also to move towards a little bit of assimilation.  I’m posting this not to gain your pitying words or because I need encouragement. It’s just a truth about moving to another country.  It ain’t easy.  The people here who have supported me, been my friends, and invited me out probably have no idea how important that has been… I look forward to doing that for others when I return, and I encourage you to do the same.  And if you take off on an adventure I advise taking a loved one with you.  That’s all.  Stay warm, Minnesota!  P.S. I do NOT miss winter.  At all.

One thought on “It Ain’t Easy

Leave a comment